Unless indicated below, this is a transcript of the original Society for the Preservation of Long Island Antiquities/Town of Brookhaven survey form. Since most of the surveys were conducted in the late 1970’s and early 1980’s, much of the information reflects that time period.

Corrections to obvious typographical and spelling errors have been made. Corrections to factual errors in the original surveys, and updates or comments on the information are either enclosed in [square brackets], or are clearly indicated as updated material from the context of the comments.

Sites with an Inventory Code suffix of “S” are supplemental sites not included in the original surveys.

BUILDING-STRUCTURE INVENTORY FORM

Brookhaven Free Library

 If checked, this is a Supplemental Form, not in the original surveys.

Inventory Code:   Br27 
Prepared Date:   1982-08-16 
Last Modified:   1970-01-01 
Original Submitter
Submitter Name:   Town of Brookhaven/SPLIA
Submitter Address:   Town Hall
205 S. Ocean Ave.
Patchogue, NY 11772  
Organization:   Brookhaven Community Development Agency
Identification
1-Building/Site Name:   Brookhaven Free Library 
2a-County:   Suffolk    2b-Town:   Brookhaven    2c-Village:   Hamlet of Brookhaven
3-Street Location:    
Ownership
 4a-Public    4b-Private
5a-Present Owner:    5b-Address:   
Use

6a-Original:   library

6b-Present:   library

Accessibility
 7a-Visible From Road

 7b-Interior Accessible
7b-Interior Comment:   during open hours
Building Materials
 8a-Clapboard

 8b-Stone

 8c-Brick

 8d-Board & Batten

 8e-Cobblestone

 8f-Shingles

 8g-Stucco
8-Other:   
Structural System
 9a-Wood Frame Interlocking Joints    9b-Wood Frame Light Members:   9c-Masonry:
 9d-Metal
9d-Metal Comment:   
 9e-Other
 9e-Other Comment:   
Condition
   10a-Excellent   10b-Good   10c-Fair    10d-Deteriorated
Integrity
  11a-Original Site  11b-Moved If so, when?
11c-Alterations:   [various additions]  «»
Photo & Map
12-Photo Photos and images
13-Map
View Larger Map
Threats
[Threats were not evaluated in the original South Shore Estuary Survey.  They are an evaluation by J. Deitz]
  14a-None Known:   14b-Zoning   14c-Roads
  14d-Developers   14e-Deterioration
14f-Other:   
14-Comment:   
Related Outbuildings and Property
 15a-Barn  15b-Carriage House  15c-Garage
 15d-Privy  15e-Shed   15f-Greenhouse
 15g-Shop  15h-Gardens   15i-Landscape Features
15i-Landscape Features:   
15j-Other:   
15-Comment:   
Surroundings of the Building
 16a-Open Land  16b-Woodland  16c-Scattered Bldgs.
 16d-Densely Built-up  16e-Commercial  16f-Industrial
 16g-Residential 16h-Other:   
Interrelationship of Building and Surroundings
17-Interrelationships:  This structure is located on Beaver Dam Road, which was first opened in 1735  
Other Notable Features of Building and Site
18-Notable Features:    The land was donated by James Post (see Br10); it was previously part of the Rose property which extended up and down Beaver Dam Road until the early 1800s. A Rose cemetery was located at this site until Oaklawn Cemetery was founded and all the graves moved there.  «»
Significance
19-Initial Const Date:   1926  
19-Architect:  
19-Builder:  
Historic and Architectural Importance
20-Importance:   1 1/2 story, 3 bay, side entrance plan, gable roof library building. Its basic design is drawn from the Long Island vernacular farmhouse, and blends with the early buildings found in Brookhaven Hamlet. The 1 story wing on east was added later [as well as the addition on the north side.] Shingled roof, dentilled cornice board, and paneled blinds and front door. The doorknob and plate were a gift to the library of Mrs. Lyons who formerly owned the John Rose House (Br29B) from which they were removed.*  «»
Sources
21-Sources: * Interview: Mrs. Deborah Love/Sack, 235 Beaver Dam Road, Brookhaven. Bigelow, Stephanie, "Bellport and Brookhaven, 1968. «»
Theme
22-Theme:    
Prepared By: 
  Ellen Williams, research assistant.  
Supplemental Material: